Welcome to Warracknabeal
Located on the Yarriambiack Creek, Warracknabeal name comes from the Aboriginal word describing the gum trees shading the watercourse. The gorgeous Yarriambiack Creek flows through Warracknabeal, lined with gum trees and occupied by wildlife.
The Yarriambiack Creek provides a haven for numerous water birds and the majestic gums that line its banks attract many varieties of native birds and animals to share this unique environment with the local residents. A walking track follows both sides of the creek providing a relaxing 4km stroll to enjoy the scenery and fresh air.
Anzac Park in Scott Street was built as a memorial to the fallen of World War 1, it is the sporting centre of Warracknabeal, housing football, cricket, tennis, netball and swimming.
The Historical Centre in Scott Street has on display is a collection of all the items that make up the history of a typical Wimmera town. Housed in the town's first State Savings Bank, the display consists of furniture, pictures, maps, kitchen utensils and the personal items found in the homes of the pioneers of the era. The bank chamber is as it was on opening day in 1909. Open daily except Saturdays 2pm-4pm. www.warracknabealhistory.org.au
Federation Place at the intersection of Scott & Woolcock Streets is a must see for all visitors. The roundabout was constructed and the four street corners redeveloped in 2001 in recognition of the Centenary of Federation. The centre piece is an unique life size sculpture of six sheep and kelpie sheep dog to signify the role of the squatters in the early settlement of the Warracknabeal area.
The Log Lock Up in Devereux Street was built in 1872 when the first permanent policeman came to town and was used until 1960. It is open daily for inspection.
If you are interested in early Architecture, the Warracknabeal Hotel and The Creekside Hotel in Scott Street are excellent examples. The iron work on the verandahs and balconies is a fine example of the craftsmanship of the 19th century. The Post Office in Scott Street is an attractive example of Tudor style architecture that was built in 1907 and still remains a unique feature of the shopping centre.
The Water Tower in Molyneaux Street was built for use by the railways in 1886. It was used as the town's water storage for 30 years. The Court House in Woolcock Street was built in 1891 and currently used by the Historical Society and Arts Council. The Anglican Church in Anderson Street was built in 1887 and still in use today.
Warracknabeal is home to many historical tributes including Federation Place with it’s full-size sculpture of sheep and a Kelpie dog that are located within the roundabout in Scott Street as a tribute to the town's early settlement days.
Situated in Scott Street, the Wheatland’s Warehouse is a secondhand dealership that is a maze of antiques and collectables that will keep you fossicking for hours.
The Wheatland Machinery Museum houses a large collection of historical farming machinery. Located 1km South of Warracknabeal on the Henty Highway, this 16 hectare site is dedicated to the collection, restoration and display of agricultural machinery used over the past 100 years, with particular emphasis on the wheat industry. Many items in the Museum are in working condition.
Warracknabeal's annual Y-Fest Easter festival showcases a street parade, buskers, art show, vintage rally, golf tournament, horse races, water skiing demonstrations and much more. For additional information about Y-Fest go to www.yfest.com.au
The Fauna Park and Picnic Area located in Craig Ave was created and is maintained by the local Lions Club. This popular park is situated on a picturesque bend of the creek, surrounded by magnificent gums, providing free electric BBQ facilities, picnic tables, a children's adventure playground and a collection of native birds and animals including kangaroos and emus in a large natural compound adjacent to the creek.